Delta Tau History

The predecessor of Delta Tau at Francis Marion College was Kappa Sigma Nu, founded in 1969. After four years the ultimate came reality, KA. Kappa Alpha Order being the first national fraternity at Francis Marion College, is the sixth chapter in South Carolina Graves Province.

Delta Tau Chapter of Kappa Alpha Order was officially installed on March 22, 1974, at Francis Marion College with Knight Commander Reynolds S. Cheney conferring the charter. Installation ceremonies took place at the Florence, SC Country Club.

Toastmaster of the installation was E. Fleming Mason, Graves Province Commander. Officials of the Order were Knight Commander Cheney, former Knight Commander W. M. Frampton Jr., and Richard A. Barnes, Direction of Chapter Services.

Other honored guests witnessing the impressive installation ceremonies were James O. Griggs, alumnus adviser, and Florence Mayor E. Copper Tedder. Also present were Delta Tau's advisers, Dick Laird, Ron Hall, and Dean Thomas Davidson.

After greetings from Knight Commander Cheney in reference to the Order, a cordial welcome by Tom Davidson, Dean of Student Affairs, Jim Griggs, alumnus adviser, presented the official flag to Stephen P. Norris, Delta Tau's No. I.

Initiation teams from Delta Omicron, Clemson, and Delta Epsilon, Newberry, inducted the new members at the St. Johns Episcopal Church in Florence.

Following the ceremonies, a model meeting was conducted by the officers of the Rho, University of South Carolina, and Delta Omicron, Clemson chapters at which the following of Delta Tau were installed:

Stephen P. Norris, No. I
Daniel B. Cook, No. II
Thomas V. Whitlock, No. III
J. Barry Reimel, No. IV
Carl J. Todd, No. V
Darryl May, No. VI
Van Wadell, No. VII
Glenn Q. Shokes, No. VIII
Stephen L. Brunson, No. IX

William T. Allen
Gene F. Benton Jr.
Stephen S. Chapman
Robert E. Crawford
Larry B. Dorman
Herbert R. Dozier
McIver E. Ervin
Stephen K. Fagan
Anthony D.  Fowler
Ross W. Gandy
Edward H. Harrison Jr.
George A. Hill
Jeffrey G. Housand
Jimmy C. McDowell
Carl E. McLeod Jr.
James J. McMillian
Theodore E. Maness
Bernard E. Moore Jr.
Joe L. Robinson Jr.
Kent D. Segars
Gregory B. Todd
Richard M. Truluck
Sloan L. Wright III

***Special Recognition should be made of Brothers Barnes and Mason for their special interest and guidance for the Delta Tau Chapter. They will always hold a special place in the minds and hearts of all of us.